Hitherfield Primary School and Children's Centre



School governing bodies are responsible for working with the school to ensure that it delivers a good quality education.  Together with the headteacher, who is responsible for day-to-day management, they set the school's aims and policies.  Hitherfield has 14 full Governing Body members and 4 associate members drawn from the staff, parents and local community.  The full governing body meets six times a year.  In addition governors belong to one of two sub-committees who usually meet six times a year.

Governors have three main roles:

  • To provide strategic direction for the school 
  • To act as a critical friend to the Headteacher 
  • To ensure accountability  

They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:

  • Determining how the school's budget is spent 
  • The appointing and dismissing of staff  
  • Hearing appeals and grievances 
  • Forming policy on the school's curriculum and collective worship
  • Setting standards for pupils' behaviour and discipline 
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe  
  • Setting and monitoring the school's aims and policies  

We have 2 governing body sub committees: 

  • Resources 
  • Learning and Personal Development


Name Position About
Christopher Ashley-Jones Headteacher  
Michael Ball Co-opted Governor  
Tessa Crilly Co-Opted Governor

Dr Tessa Crilly has been a governor since 2002 (originally a Local Authority appointment) and chairs the Learning and Personal Development Committee.  She was born in Liverpool and moved away to study at the London School of Economics.  Her father, Frank, was a builder's joiner who left school at 14, but claimed - to general mirth - that "I steered my kids round the minefield of education".  The serious point was that education was valued.  Tessa's focus is to ensure that children get the best chances possible and develop all their potential through their time at Hitherfield.

Phyllis Dunipace

Co-Opted Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

Michael Elliott

Co-Opted Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

Simon Hooberman

Chair of Governorning Board

Local Authority Governor


Simon Hooberman was first appointed as a Governor of Hitherfield by the Local Authority in 1982. After two spells as Vice-Chair of Governors, he was elected Chair in September 1999 and has held the post ever since. Simon lives in Leigham Court Road and works from home as a self-employed Admin Consultant (although he hates that phrase!) providing administration, fundraising and other support as required to a number of local charities and voluntary organisations. He also serves as Clerk to the Governing Bodies of a number of other schools in both Lambeth and Croydon. He regularly attends events involving Governors across the borough and serves as a member of Lambeth’s Independent Appeal and Review Panels. He is also involved with a number of other organisations on a voluntary basis and served as an elected Councillor in Lambeth for 12 years in the 1980’s and 1990’s.

Dr Heather Kappes

Vice-Chair of Governing Board

Parent Governor

Dr Heather Kappes has been a parent governor since December 2015.  She is an Assistant Professor of Marketing at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), with a background in Social Psychology.  At the LSE she teaches course on consumer behaviour and does research on motivation.  She is an American, married to a German, happy to be raising international kids in South London. 

Dominic Leary

Co-Opted Governor

Appointedby the Governing Body

Graham Lee

Co-Opted Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

Luke Parker Staff Governor Elected by the staff.
Julia Patrick

Associate Member

Appointed by the Governing Body

Philip Raines Parent Governor Elected by the School's Parents & Carers
Mike Short Parent Governor Mike joined the Governing Board in 2016.  He has two daughters at Hitherfield.  Mike works at the Trade Union UNISON where he is deputy head of Local Government, focusing on policy issues, public service improvement and workforce matters.  In the past he has worked in policy roles covering higher education, the community and the voluntary sector.
Nicola Yarlett

Co-Opted Governor

Appointed by the Governing Body

Jacinta Waters

Associate Member

Deputy Head

Associate Member Appointed by the Governing Body

Arlette Wells

Associate Member

School Business Manager

Appointed by the Governing Body

Phoebe Zady

Associate Member

Appointed by the Governing Body

Associate Members do not currently have voting rights. 

Membership and Register of Business Interests

Academic Year 2014 - 2015

Academic Year 2015 - 2016

Academic Year 2016-2017


School Web Design by School Website